MENU  
  HOME
  TACLOBAN HOTELS
  HOTEL REVIEWS
  => REVIEWS ASIA STARS HOTEL
  => REVIEWS GRAND ROYAL SUITES HOTEL
  => REVIEWS HOTEL ALEJANDRO
  => REVIEWS HOTEL D'ANGELO
  => REVIEWS HOTEL DON FELIPE
  => REVIEWS JASMIN BEACH RESORT
  => REVIEWS LA RICA HOTEL
  => REVIEWS LEYTE PARK HOTEL
  => OLDER REVIEWS LEYTE PARK HOTEL PT.1
  => REVIEWS MACARTHUR PARK BEACH RESORT
  => REVIEWS MANHATTAN INN
  => REVIEWS ROSVENIL PENSIONE
  => REVIEWS SABIN RESORT HOTEL
  => REVIEWS TACLOBAN PLAZA HOTEL
  => PROPERTY OWNERS PAGE
  => HOTEL SUBMISSION FORM
  RENT A CAR
  GUESTHOUSE IN TACLOBAN
  DREAMTIME GUEST HOUSE TACLOBAN
  REAL ESTATE
  CAMELLA HOMES TACLOBAN CITY
  TACLOBAN NEWS
  HISTORY OF TACLOBAN
  TACLOBAN CONVENTION CENTERS
  FESTIVALS
  ATTRACTIONS
  TRAVEL GUIDE
  WOW TACLOBAN
  RESTAURANTS
  RESTAURANT REVIEWS
  TACLOBAN TRAVEL PACKAGES
  TACLOBAN NIGHTLIFE
  HOW TO GET THERE
  TRANSPORTATION
  TACLOBAN MAPS
  TACLOBAN CITY DEVELOPMENTS AND PROJECTS
  TACLOBAN CITY - A HIGHLY URBANIZED CITY - THE HUC ISSUE
  TACLOBAN CITY POLLS
  KEEP TACLOBAN CITY CLEAN
  SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGE TACLOBAN
  PHILIPPINE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS 2010
  CORRUPTION IN THE PHILIPPINES
  CAMPAIGN AGAINST DENGUE
  DONATE BLOOD - SAVE LIVES
  TANAUAN BIKINI OPEN COMPETITION 2007
  BAYAN FAMILY TIES
  FREE FILIPINA PENPALS
  PROUDLY PINOY SLIDESHOW
  FIND LOST RELATIVES & FRIENDS
  PINOY CHAT ROOMS
  TACLOBAN RELATED VIDEOS
  PHILIPPINE INDEPENDENCE DAY
  PINOY BIG BROTHER TEEN EDITION PLUS
  MADONNA DECENA
  JUSTENE JARO
  MISA CAMPO
  THE RED BUTTON
  PAC MAN
  STORM THE HOUSE
  LINK TO US
  LINKS
  RELATED LINKS
  HELP & FAQ
  OWNERS HELP & FAQ
  WHAT'S NEW?
  IMPRESSUM
  GUESTBOOK
  ABOUT US
  FEEDBACK
  CONTACT US
  Copyright © 2007 - 2016 TaclobanHotels.com
  WHAT PEOPLE IN ABROAD THINK ABOUT DUTERTE
REVIEWS HOTEL ALEJANDRO


HOME » HOTEL REVIEWS » HOTEL ALEJANDRO

Hotel Reviews
Hotel Alejandro



Tacloban Hotels
Tacloban Hotel Reviews
Tacloban Restaurants
Tacloban Restaurant Reviews
Tacloban Real Estate

Tacloban Attractions
Tacloban Travel Guide
Tacloban Rent-a-Car
Tacloban Maps
Tacloban News

Tacloban Travel Packages
Tacloban Nightlife
Free Filipina Penpals
Find lost relatives/friends
What's NEW?





Very nice and
comfortable place

By Josie from Brisbane, Australia
Nov/10/2010


Overall

Stayed here 3 days before Xmas 2009 as a stop-over from Manila while heading up to Leyte to spend time with wifes Family ..


             Front View - Hotel Alejandro, Tacloban City ..

Found the Hotel to be ok for short visits ... wouldnt make a long stay out of it ..

At the time we stayed the lift wasnt working from ground level, so to get your bags to room a bellboy had to walk the stairs to the first floor and then bring it down to ground floor ..

Didnt worry us to much the excercise we got walking up the stairs to our room on the second floor probably did us some good anyway ..

Found the staff very polite and helpfull, Rooms were ok a little more attention in house cleaning wouldnt have gone amiss but still in all clean and livable ..

Resturant was quaint .. did find that the time from order to having the plate on table took a bit of time, but nothing to get to fussed about ..

All in all a very nice and comfortable place to stay .. would recommend to any one who is useing Tacloban as a stop-over to somewhere else .. as we will again on Feb 2011 ..

Date of Stay: December 2009
Liked: staff is very polite and helpful
Disliked: lift wasn't working, a little more attention in house cleaning would be nice ..
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes.




Hotel Alejandro
had us at hello .. !!

By Charmie Tamba from Zamboanga City
Oct/04/2010


Overall

I did not bother making any hotel reservations before the trip because i was confident that we would be able to find a decent place to stay on the spot ...

While we were on the jeepney from the airport I asked the driver which hotel he would recommend ... and without a blink he said Hotel Alejandro ... but my list says Hotel Alejandro is expensive!!! But nevertheless, we asked him to take us there ...

And look at what we saw!!! The facade simply awed us ... Hotel Alejandro had us at hello ... hehehe



Hotel Alejandro looked so inviting from the outside ... :-) the photos on the net does not give justice to the place.

I love how it looked historical ... somehow blending with the notion of a historical trip if you're heading to Leyte.

Date of Stay: October 2010
Liked: the facade looks so inviting, so historical
Disliked: ...
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes.




Hotel Alejandro offers
high quality service

By Steven from Torrance, California, USA
Aug/13/2010


Overall

This would be considered an average hotel in the US, but with much, much better service. The hotel is old, but full of historic photos and architecture.

I would recommend only the more expensive rooms, but even then you will be paying about $40 US. While not an exclusive or fancy stay, you won't find many better values for your money on Leyte.

The restaurant is quite good and also inexpensive and has the same high quality of service the rest of the hotel staff provide. Get your laundry done here - great value.

The only high price item is transportation to and from the airport at PHP 300. I highly recommend it and don't miss out on their American breakfast - excellent!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Liked: very good sevice, good restaurant, great laundry service, good transportation service from airport to hotel, excellent American breakfast
Disliked: nothing to dislike
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




Far from good ..
Stay away if possible!

By Badman from ??
Jul/25/2010


Overall

Hotel Alejandro was a bad place to stay. I stayed there nearly two weeks, so I learned alot. Let me start by stating this, I only stayed at this hotel, and this may very well be the best hotel in Tacloban City, but its far from good.

I did visit Leyte Park Hotel, but wow what a dump. Leyte Park had enough garbage on its property and in the water, i would not even check in there.

Back to Hotel Alejandro. The rooms need to be cleaned with some TLC. Especially in the bathrooms. I felt more dirty going in, during, and coming out of the shower with all the mold etc. I was so frightened I showered with the curtain open so i could see if the mold moved.

The mold and mildew is just a sign of laziness in my opinion, I mean come on hotel management, take pride in your property. I also saw everything from small to giant roaches, in addition to lizards and other creepy crawlies.

The hotel staff was below average overall. However, the security guards where great guys, really nice and attentive. I felt secure there. Also, the housekeeping staff were nice and wouldnt let me forget anything in my room.

However, there was one instant where one asked my fiance how old she was as we were leaving for lunch, totally inappropriate, but she spoke tagalog, so by the time I got the interpretation it wasn't worth reacting.

The main issue i had was with the desk staff. Forget about leaving messages, returning messages, reserving functions, getting change, etc. I think there attitude was reflective when booking the hotel originally; I never really got confirmation.

The restraunt was ok at best, but way to pricey for the quality. Don't eat the filet mignon unless you want to choke, and although the drinks were about 100 pesos, you can take a nap and come back by the time they serve you your TWO ounces of mixed drink.

In addition, they have a cooler in one corner that blows freezing air on one side of the restraunt. So, you will need a sweater in there if in or near the direct flow.

The hotel will nickel and dime you for all. For example we brought in our own drinks for the reception and they just added on 300 pesos for that. Says it's a hotel policy, so I asked where it was written on the scratch paper the event coordinator gave for the menu, and its not written anywhere.

I guess they just make things up and tell you about it after of course. Needless to say I did not pay that one. We got about 2000 pesos worth of food for about 3 times the cost.

So, bad Idea, if your considering, however the poolside area is very nice looking, but again you would think they would have pool lights to enhance the scene... forget about it.

Like i said this may be a nice hotel for Tacloban, but regardless its bad, stay away if possible.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Liked: security guys where nice and attentive, poolside area is very nice looking
Disliked: rooms need to be cleaned, mold in the bathroom, all kinds of "creepy crawlies" in the room, restaurant is too pricey, restaurant service is slow
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No




Just Basic

By Traveller from Fresno, California, USA
Apr/27/2010


Overall

Hotel Alejandro is just a basic hotel. The room had basic small beds. They don't clean the rooms well.

They gave very thin small towels with cheap soap. The bathroom has some molds.

They don't replace the glasses. You have to go down there to get new glasses.

Leyte Park Hotel has a new management. In time, that Leyte Park will be a nice place to stay again with a nice view of the sea.

Hotel Alejandro is a 2 or 3 star hotel at the most. They need to start working hard on the rooms.

Date of Stay: February 2010
Liked: ...
Disliked: small beds, they don't clean the rooms well
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No




The Opposite of Good

By Cheeky Bella from Australia
Apr/04/2010


Overall

After reading all the comments here about Hotel Alejandro, I thought this hotel must be good .. but it was the opposite.

The noise every morning from the dogs barking and the rooster as well couldn't give us a longer sleep.

The room was pretty average, tv remote was not working, bathroom was moldy, hairs on the bed.

The service? Another one ... receptionists lack of information. I asked for a wake-up call & nothing happened.

I got to the hotel one night, and the receptionist was sleeping on the desk ... oh my .. . It wasn't a good stay at all.

Date of Stay: March 18th-21st, 2010
Liked: the security service
Disliked: the room, the service, the hotel, tv remote not working, bathroom moldy, hairs on the bed
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No way!!




A Valentine Nightmare

By KeBuzzy from Philippines
Feb/18/2010


Overall

We arrived on the late afternoon of the Valentine weekend. Having had this hotel highly recommended by colleagues. The history on the walls of this hotel is impressive - but that is as far as it goes.

Understandably the entrance area was under renovation but this did not justify the filth in the rooms.

Our room had dirty blankets, dirty seat cushion covers, smelly pillow as if unchanged and a bathroom that smelled of urine. The shower curtain had stains and the toilet seat was peeling and unclean.

When we complained to the front desk, they suggested giving us another room (this of course does not get rid of the problem which will face the next customer).

We asked to speak to the manager who was not available for the weekend. After a lengthy discussion we said we will keep the room but it should be thoroughly cleaned (the other room that we were shown was not any different).

We left for dinner and on coming back we found who ever did the cleaning left our room door open! Not just unlocked - OPEN. This was very upsetting and we were back at the front desk - without getting much help.

That night the bed bugs feasted on us and we checked out the following morning. This was a nightmare of a valentine weekend at Hotel Alejandro. Never Ever again!

Date of Stay: February 2010
Liked: impressive history
Disliked: filth in the rooms, dirty blankets, dirty seat cushion covers, smelly pillows, bathroom smelled of urine, toilet unclean, front desk not helpful
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No way!!




Good budget hotel
in Tacloban

By Andrew Bana from Makati, Philippines
Feb/12/2010


Overall

I only stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. The hotel offers basic accommodation in a good location.

The hotel looks fairly old and rundown, but is actually well maintained.

Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with TV, fridge and old-style bathroom.

The room I stayed in didn't have proper curtains to block out the sunlight and the bedding, towels and toiletries are cheap quality, what you would expect from a budget hotel.

Service was very good and they offered free Wi-Fi internet on the ground floor.

Overall a good budget hotel in Tacloban.

Date of Stay: February 2010
Liked: good location, well maintained, spacious rooms, clean and comfortable, very good service
Disliked: no proper curtains to block out the sunlight
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




Filled with History -
Excellent Service!!

By Ted from Livonia, MI, USA
Nov/05/2009


Overall

Anyone who appreciates history or great service will love the Hotel Alejandro in Tacloban.

For the history buffs, the walls are lined with 1930s-40s era black and white photos and war memorabilia.

For those who love service, you won't be disappointed by the friendly staff who respond immediately to any request you make.

This hotel is clean and comfortable, and the restaurant serves up the best food you could want.

By far the best value are the Filipino Breakfast and American Breakfast, both of which will start your day off right without emptying your wallet.

The only negative I can even think of is that the water pressure in the showers isn't all it could be - but compared with everything else that is wonderful about this hotel, it's hardly a concern.

When you're in Tacloban, stay at the Hotel Alejandro - you won't regret it.

Date of Stay: October 2009
Liked: great service, clean and comfortable, best food
Disliked: the water pressure in the showers could do better
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




Stayed nine times at Hotel Alejandro so far ..

By Rose from USA
Oct/23/2009


Overall

I definitely recommend this hotel to anybody that will want to visit Tacloban. This is my 9th times i have stayed in this hotel.

The hotel receptionist in Hotel Aljandro is very accommadating, Nellie is the best she is very helpful and very knowelegable about Tacloban.

I love the convenience of the restaurant downstairs which i do not have to look for one farther out.

Next stay will be for a month and i cannot wait.

Date of Stay: January 2009
Liked: the staff and the rooms are great
Disliked: cannot think of anything that I do not like
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




This is the place to stay
in Tacloban City

By Kevin Wilkins from Sedgwick, Kansas, USA
Sep/19/2009


Overall


                     Hotel Alejandro from the Street ..


Stayed over a month here and I couldn't be happier. The staff was excellent, room was very clean and smelled fantastic every day, good television, refrigerator was cold and cold freezer.

The bath is nice and modern with a standup shower and plenty of hot water. There's a pool and meeting area/venue on the roof that is beautiful (great view too).


                       The lobby at Hotel Alejandro ..



I read all of the reviews here before deciding on Hotel Alejandro and am glad I decided to stay there. I arrived on the 14th of August and checked out the 15th of September so I think I have a pretty good feel for the hotel and it's staff.

I went to Tacloban to meet my love interest who lives only a mile or so from the hotel. She and her family also recommended I stay there as opposed to the other options in town.

I've been into the lobby of the other hotels mentioned here, Asia Stars and the Leyte Park Resort to name two of them. None compared with Hotel Alejandro. Asia Stars is a 6 or 8 story concrete building in the heart of downtown and leaves a lot to be desired. I'm sure the traffic noise there would be incredible - and Leyte park resort isn't in the best shape. We went to the restaurant on the north side of the resort several times for dinner, beers and to watch the sun set. That place I CAN recommend



 3rd floor staircase and my beautiful bride at Hotel Alejandro ..



The staff at Hotel Alejandro couldn't have been better. The only minor problems I had were with room service not knowing the difference between a thermos of hot water and a cup of hot water.

The food was pretty good although a little pricey compared to the other places in town (well it is room service).

The housekeeping staff was wonderful (thanks so much Isabela!!). My laundry was well taken care of and everyone was very friendly and helpful.



                     The roof venue at Hotel Alejandro ..


The roof venue is very beautiful! We nearly held our wedding there and only at the last minute decided to do it all ourselves. The hotel offers a wedding package that includes absolutely everything you'd need right down to 2 vehicles to shuttle bride/groom and parents to and from the wedding, cake and a bridal suite, and enough food for 100 guests for P46,000 ($964 USD). All you'll need is a suit and gown!



                          The Roof at Hotel Alejandro ..



                     Upper pool-area at Hotel Alejandro ..
                          (aircon-meeting area with bar)



The room was very clean and always had clean linens (when we let them in heheh). Two beds, one single one double, stand up western style shower with a never ending supply of hot water, ice cold fridge and air-con.




                  More from the Roof at Hotel Alejandro ..



There's free wifi access and two computers for guests on the bottom floor of the house adjacent to the gift shop. I was able to access the wifi from the balcony of the 3rd floor just over the internet room.



                     Roof top pool at Hotel Alejandro ..


Cafe Teresa is very nice and clean as well as the entire lobby area. More meeting and conference rooms are available on the 2nd floor as well, but I'd recommend the roof!!

The WWII photos, letters and memorabilia strung throughout the hotel is very impressive and was being added too the entire time I was there. Be sure to take the time to look through it all!!



       View of the city from the roof top at Hotel Alejandro ..


On check-out, my now wife and I spoke with the manager and she gave me a discount on top of their already very reasonable prices!! I know it's long but I still feel like I left something out. I can't say enough good things about the hotel and it's staff!! Feel free to write to me at wilkins_kevin@sbcglobal.net if you have any questions about the hotel or Tac City. I'd be happy to help!!

We had a good vacation though and that's what matters, we just hope that the hotel management can address the issue.

Date of Stay: August 14th to September 15th 2009
Liked: very clean, modern and great staff, food was pretty good, housekeeping staff was wonderful, laundry is well taken care of, everyone is very friendly and helpful, very beautiful roof venue, free wifi access
Disliked: room service a little off sometimes ..
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!!



Hi Kevin,

Now that's really a very good and very detailed review ..

Only thing I would like to add is that the ASIA STARS HOTEL is not noisy at all. My wife and I, we both stayed at ASIA STARS HOTEL before and we had a wonderful stay.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and they offer a very good room service, too.

But after reading your review we are really tempted to give HOTEL ALEJANDRO a try next time we come to Tacloban.

With kind regards,
Arlene and Christian Schmidt
TaclobanHotels.
com




Affordable and Nice

By Rose from USA
Aug/05/2009


Overall

Hotel Alejandro is by far the best hotel i have stayed at in Tacloban City. The hotel is clean and they have very friendly staff.

The only thing that i dont like about the hotel, especially my husband is the smelly bathroom, even if they clean it everyday it still smells.

We had a good vacation though and that's what matters, we just hope that the hotel management can address the issue.

Date of Stay: April 2009
Liked: clean rooms, friendly staff
Disliked: the bathroom
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




Surprisingly nice hotel and a very good value too!

By Gopbi from Bangkok
May/02/2009


Overall

Stayed here last week of April 2009 for 3 nights visiting friends in the province ... First thing is that the hotel has a very nice --if not imposing-- front view ..

It is a historic site for Tacloban town and has history that you can see for yourself in the many photos on the walls and a Tacloban history book in the lobby area ..

Check-in is swift and a bellboy takes your bags .. I reserved a basic standard room and was quoted a off-peak rate of PHP1000/night nett ..

Luckily at check-in I got a room that had been renovated about a year ago (according to front desk staff) .. The room is --like virtually all of the Philippines-- hard tile. This is nice as it keeps the room cool .. It was suprisingly large for the room category ..

Basic small bed -- like a US twin size or similar .. like almost all beds in asia --it was firm-- to say the least .. light blanket and pillows ..

A/C was overhead type and strong and quite.. TV was a smaller (maybe 25 in or so) color with remote .. all your standard cable channels including english movie and news channels .. some programs in Chinese/Japanese/Russian too ..

Only one small desk by the bed-- not enought space to work from, but enough for your basics..

Bathroom was a western style with only a standup shower. The hot water was a "water on a wall" type of hot water system ... It had decent pressure, but like all "water on the wall" systems, the water never gets really hot -- some dont care, but for me I like a nice hot shower .. All fixture worked and were very clean ..

Overall the room was basic but very clean, no signs of roaches or similar and everything worked -- no exceptions ..

Hotel does have an odd "swimming" pool on the roof.. I'd suggest you go look for yourself .. Why is it "odd"? Well, when you look at it .. It's small ... and it looks out-of-place ... It looks like it was an "after thought" ... It ocupies one corner of the rooftop .. Shaped in an "L" shape that wraps around the corner of the hotel .. no diving board and it can only be 5ft deep or so at best .. There are a few small tables with chairs next to it if you want to have a bite to eat or drink .. Nice place as most of the hotels in Tacloban dont have a pool at all -- it's just a funny looking set-up ... Like someone thought to add a pool AFTER the hotel was done ..

Hotel facitlites are suprisingly good.. a restaurant that is 24/7 (room service 24/7 also) that has a very diverse menu -- western/philippino and thai foods are featured .. A feature that I like -- I call it "off-menu" ordering .. I asked the hotel for a simple grilled cheese sandwich, it's not on the menu. But they made one for me. A nice touch.

The front desk staff were very helpful in anything I wanted .. They even called the airline to confirm my seats for my departure, arranged for a taxi to the airport .. everything ..

The hotel is in a fairly good location and is walking distance to most things in downtown Tacloban ..

Date of Stay: April 2009
Liked: very clean rooms, nice "odd" pool, 24/7-restaurant, 24/7-room service, "off-menu" ordering, front desk staff very helpful
Disliked: nothing to dislike
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




A ‘time capsule' in Tacloban

By Bong
Apr/14/2009


Overall

If you ever have a chance to visit the history-rich city of Tacloban, chances are you would find yourself billeted at the Hotel Alejandro right at the middle of downtown Tacloban. The hotel, though nothing grand, is a time machine, almost literally.

I had the good fortune of being able to visit Tacloban for the very first time in November 2007 when my company's management team went there for our planning conference for 2008. I was doubly lucky that our accommodations and conference venue were both at Hotel Alejandro.

Hotel Alejandro is a complete destination in itself, and it was the case for me during that short visit of mine in Tacloban City. Aside from the airport, Hotel Alejandro was the only place I was able to set foot on in Tacloban. I have seen not even the shadow of San Juanico Bridge, the primary must-see attraction for first-timers in Tacloban.

It was a good thing that during my first two days in the hotel I have spent all my available time to devour the WWII photos and memorabilia displayed all around the hotel. The place is actually a "WWII - Battle of Leyte Gulf" museum masquerading as a hotel. I seriously doubt if there is any other place with more photos and memorabilia from the Battle of Leyte Gulf during the 2nd World War than Hotel Alejandro.

Date of Stay: November 2007
Liked: WWII photos and memorabilia
Disliked: nothing to dislike
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




Best hotel in town

By Dieter from Canada
Apr/03/2009


Overall

A truly nice hotel even if rooms are simple but they are clean and pleasant and well prized. The roof top and pool is worth half the money and downtown is just a few blocks away.

The area around the hotel is full with fairly nice coffee houses, a blues/jazz place across the street and around the corner are food stores, plenty of internet cafe's and good restaurants. The hotel's own restaurant is a good place for breakfast.

Only tear drop was that the promised wireless internet connection never materialized........neither in rooms nor the lobby even, though, their router was humming away in a corner of the front desk.

Where Tacloban is concerned this hotel is tops.

Date of Stay: January 2009
Liked: style and location and security
Disliked: nothing to not like
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes



A beautiful hotel

By Polowonder from Gent, Belgium
Mar/19/2009


Overall

The hotel is in a beautiful building.

In some of the rooms you must get along with the sanitary, sometimes it will take a while for the hot water.

In general the rooms were very tidy. Nice staff, good food in the cafe.

Liked: very tidy rooms, nice staff, good food
Disliked: sometimes hot water takes a while
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




A very nice Pool

By Sickem from Newcastle, Australia
Mar/18/2009


Overall

While agreeing with everyone else, I find it strange that no one has mentioned the pool on the roof that was finished while I was there. The roof top has a rather nice view of the city and a very nice pool. It's funny how people go to see something and don't really look around.

The place has a very detailed photo history of various things that have happened going back to WWII.

It took me a little effort but I finally talked the staff into selling me a carton of beer to take out with me, they insisted it would be cheaper elsewhere, But even thier high price was a lot cheaper than in my country hehe. I'll be going back soon.

Date of Stay: December 2007
Liked: nice view of the city from the roof, very nice pool, their beer
Disliked: nothing
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? yes




Homey Hotel

By Mary from Philippines
Jan/27/2009


Overall

Hotel Alejandro must be the most charming Hotel in this side of town.The hotel facade tells one of History w/c adds charm to this Hotel.

It's surely not a 5-star hotel but the attentiveness & friendliness of the staff compensate for it. Besides the Rate is so reasonable, the food in the restaurant is also okey & the rooms are clean.

We surely enjoyed our stay except for the old towels that they still use & hope the management notice that.
Generally, the Hotel is great & we will still come back next time.

Date of Stay: January 2009
Liked: the friendly staff, the price, good food, clean rooms
Disliked: old towels
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




Very recommendable

By Polowonder near Ghent
Dec/28/2008


Overall

During November 2008, my Filipina girlfriend and myself stayed twice in this hotel. First for 3 nights at the beginning of my stay, and again 3 nights near the end.

The first room we were in had somewhat older plumbing, but the staff was very helpful in showing a trick to use it. The room we had the second stay was simply perfect, a bit smaller, but recently renewed. Rooms were cleaned quite thoroughly, so nothing to complain about that either.

Food in the restaurant is the best we had in the town, staff there (cafe Teresa) also very friendly.

The hotel is situated on walking distance from shopping streets, but as everywhere in the Philippines, a tricycle can bring you where you want to be for almost nothing.

Before going back to Europe, we stayed in another hotel near Manila airport. Having been in the Alejandro... it was like from heaven to hell.

Date of Stay: November 2008
Liked: the friendly staff, the price
Disliked: plumbing in the first room
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




The Best Hotel In Town!

By a Tacloban Hotels Contributer
Oct/31/2008


Overall

Very neat and clean, the staff are so friendly, reliable and hospitable. House keepers are honest.

The rooms are very cozy. The rate is very affordable. Very quiet and convinience, very close to everywhere me and my son wants to go.

I would say, this is the best Hotel in Tacloban! I'll surely would stay there again next time I go visit my family in Southern Leyte. A++++++!!!!!!!!!!!!


Liked: cozy rooms, friendly staff, close to everywhere
Disliked: nothing
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




I always love to be here.

By luz of taft
Oct/19/2008


Overall

I like this place because they are very clean and accomodating and everybody is friendly and trustworthy. I always stay here every year I go home because I feel very comfortable and the service is always great. This is just like home to me. Wonderful management and employees.

I am proud to recommend this hotel to everyone because you can just have the best food that you wanted to order. It is very deliceous and my whole family is always welcome. My American husband really falls inlove with the place and the people there.


Liked: great service, wonderful management, best food
Disliked: nothing
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




Great Hotel, will come back

By LaTrader from La Crescenta
Sep/05/2008


Overall

Hotel Alejandro in downtown Tacloban. Its a very clean hotel and staff is great. Front desk is very helpful and the cleaning crew is so attentive. Its not a 5 star but its propably the best hotel you can find in Tacloban.

Prices are very reasonable and food at the restaurant is good and priced right. I recommend going to Ocho Ocho restaurant. They have great grilled fish and barbecue. Hope to come back soon.


Liked: everything
Disliked: nothing
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




Looking good.

By Kram18 from UK
Jun/02/2008

Overall:
 
A little piece of history.

Parts of this hotel are like stepping back in time. Not because its old, but because its steeped in the history of WW2.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. The Hotel very clean and it was good to get a greeting from every member of the staff as you walked past.

If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, this is the place to go in Tacloban.

Date of Stay: April, 2008
Liked: Clean and fresh with good manners.
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!




Hotel Alejandro is the best hotel in Tacloban !!!

By a tacloban hotels contributer
Apr/27/2008

Overall:
 
My family and I simply loved our stay at Hotel Alejandro. This hotel is very unique compared to other hotels I stayed in because it educated me and my kids how "culturally rich" Tacloban City is. It's my first time to see a hotel which showcases World War II pictures and memorabilias.

I have seven (7) reasons why my family and I loved our stay:

(1) Hotel Alejandro is very clean and orderly.

(2) The staff are friendly, warm and courteous.

(3) The food is very yummy and priced reasonable.

(4) The rooms are very very reasonable (value for money).

(5) The location is great and accessible. It's near Sto. Nino Shrine, Sto. Nino Church, McArthur Shrine, San Juanico Bridge and nice restaurants within the area.

(6) The service is A-1 (very prompt, most especially my laundry service and my shuttle going to the airport)

(7) The facilities of the hotel is also superb: The hotel has a swimming pool, many function halls, and a nice restaurant/cafe.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody, especially big groups or families planning to stay in Tacloban. Hotel Alejandro is definitely a home away from home!




Will stay there again and again

By Beth N.
Apr/10/2008

Overall:
 
Everytime we go home to phils and visit friends and family in tacloban, we don't stay anywhere else except at this hotel. Fair enough, there is no swimming pool to laze around on and have some tan but who cares?

The staff know all of my family and they even remember my husband! I really can't name a specific staff who excelled in giving a really excellent service as they all do. Staff there doesn't do it for 'd' tip but coz they enjoy their job.

And about the food ...... for me personally, no pretence there. What you see is what you get! All very yummy ...... next time you're in town, pls try it and find out for yourself. Good all around!




A definite stay at Hotel Alejandro

By a contibutor from New Jersey, USA
Dec/20/2007

Overall:
 
The location is okay not in a crowded place
but still in the city. Friendly and respectful people.

 
I've been in other hotel in Tacloban but this hotel Alejandro is a better place. Not smelly inside the room.
Quite clean and resonable price for the hotel
room.

 
Food are good according to the choices.
Services are prompt and good.

 
Only complain the towel are not the good towel for a bathroom. It looks like has been
washed without using chlorine bleach.

 
Even if I am from Leyte and been away for so
many years I still recommend this hotel for any returning/visiting friends and relatives.

Date of Stay: November, 2007





I can't wait to go back!!!

By Ashley
Nov/30/2007

Overall:
 

i like hotel alejandro in tacloban because the service is very fast... but the value is very large expierience deluxe room is 1,500... the beds is so soft i like the beds i also like the location its very clean... i can't wait to go back there its very very beautiful.....!!!

Date of Stay: August, 2007







A Great Place To Stay

By Dave
Nov/24/2007

Overall:
 
As an American and first time traveler to Tacloban resverations were made for me by a friend.

Upon my arrival I observed a distinguished colonial type Hotel. As I approached I was greeted by a very cordial security/bell hop gentelmen in uniform.

This motel is somewhat dedicated to The Americans that help liberate them from Japanese rule. Many war pictures of the war.

As for the room. The room is nothing fancy but comfortable and clean. However I find The Philppines 20 to 30 years beyond The United States. The restaurant was clean and pleasant and you can even get an American breakfast.

I was treated like a King in this country never once disrespected. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Tacloban.

Aside from the roosters crowing at daylight and the church bells at 5:00am it was great. I will be back to visit soon.

Date of Stay: October, 2007




It's very nice to stay there!!!

By a contributor from J. Nawaro st., Ormoc City
Oct/11/2007

Overall:
 
hotel alejandro has the best facilities among the other hotels around..their staff and the service was good and very accommodating in their guest.. they have the good venue of the hotel...its so peaceful and relaxing hotel in tacloban..i love going there again...one thing i dont like is the food.. they should improve more on the particular foods..

Date of Stay: June, 2007




Clean, Tidy and efficent

By a contributor from United Kingdom
Apr/20/2007

Overall:
 

I've stayed here twice now, and its for sure the best hotel in Tacloban. The staff are helpful and always smiling, the rooms are clean and well looked after. The hotel courtesy bus is available for airport transfers at a good rate. Only downside is that the hotel is in a non-central location, but theres plenty of pedicabs available to get round town or the hotel can arrange taxis for longer journeys.

Date of Stay: November, 2005




Tacloban's best Hotel

By sigpro229 from Bellflower, USA
Oct/07/2006

Overall:
 

I would give this hotel a rating of 2 out of a possible 5. This hotel was built before WWII and is still in good condition. They provide transfers from the airport to the hotel. Returning to the airport is extra.

The room was a good size and, most importantly, clean. The bed was, however, uncomfortable. The TV was a good size, at about 24 inches and there were a good selection of channels. The shower had low pressure and the water didn’t get hot enough, but was bearable. The refrigerator was a pleasant surprise.

Customer service was excellent, as is Pilipino tradition. The house restaurant, although pricey for the area, was good. Within the hotel is a small WWII museum which gave me a great learning experience.

The Alejandro is located in the heart of Tacloban. Pretty much any place within the downtown area could be reached via Tricycle for 5 pesos. All in all,

I would stay here again, as the price seems to be right. It also seems to be the best hotel in the Tacloban area.

A small WWII museum located in the lobby of the hotel. Great customer service.



*This reviews are the subjective opinions of Tacloban Hotel Travellers and not of TaclobanHotels.com.





DO YOU KNOW MORE ABOUT
HOTEL ALEJANDRO?

WRITE YOUR OWN HOTEL REVIEW.
SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES!
CONTRIBUTE YOUR KNOWLEDGE AND BECOME A VITAL PART OF OUR
COMMUNITY.

[contact us]






TACLOBAN WEATHER  
   
LIKE THIS WEBSITE?  
   
CURRENCY CONVERTER  
   
SPONSORED LINKS  
   
DONATE BLOOD - SAVE LIVES